Family Matters

Today I found out that my cousin eloped this last weekend with her fiancé.

She is young and everyone is scared for her, knowing the love is not any easy thing and so much more life ahead of her.

It is so hard for everyone to see others happiness when they have been hurt or are hurting. That is why it is so important to remember that, as hard as it may be, to just be happy for some who is trying to find their own happiness.

I don’t talk to my cousin much anymore but we were really close when we were younger and we are family. My mom asked me to talk to her to let her know that I was happy for her because everyone had been giving her a hard time.

So today I took the time to let her know that she needed to concentrate on her own happiness and to prove all the doubters that she and her new husband have a love that is strong, the kind that can stay true and last forever.

It felt good to talk to her again and let her know that I was there for her. But also to realize that sometimes the simplest text can change someone’s life. It really is the little things that can change someone’s attitude, day, or life.

From now on, I am going to try and concentrate on the little things not only for myself but for the people around me.

Leave a Reply

