Going Out of the Way

Today, while working during the craziest sale of the year, I was helping a man who just got out of the army. He needed the essentials for backpacking.

I didn’t treat him any differently than any other customer. But he was just so grateful for everything. He was so used to not having very many choices. It was really refreshing to have someone so grateful after a very long day.

And on top of that after he had checked out he came all the way to the back of the store just to thank me for all my help. It made me feel good that I had helped him that much even though I was just doing my job. But it also reminded me that going out of your way to thank someone, for even the smallest things, makes the biggest difference.

It comes full circle when you voice your appreciation for the little things that people can do for you.

Leave a Reply

